Can someone please define "occasional"?

satisfied7

Day "2er", please forgive the silly question. I am also new to message boards so if I posted this wrong please forgive! I have read the book and am trying to follow this pretty darm close! My question is, for example, manadamia nuts are on teh "best" eating fats. So how much can you have? 1 serving per day? My biggest question is the "occasional" food items. Does this mean once a week, once a day?

Any help would be appreciated! I am super excited (still). You might want to check back in a couple of day! ;)

satisfied7 -

Totally not a silly question! This one's hard for some folks to get their heads around. What we mean is that we don't want you to rely on that food as a staple of your diet. There's no hard limit on number of servings but, for example, we would rather see you rely on coconut milk as a major source of fat than on nuts.

I hope that makes sense for you!

• Moderators

I frequently cook with macadamia nuts. I throw a handful in with stir-fries of greens, slow cooker beef or chicken, and onions. I often throw in a handful of dried cranberries too. I probably use macadamia nuts like this as much as 3 to 5 times per week. I avoid eating any nuts as a snack because I think it is a bad habit that often leads to over eating.

As with everything, context matters! I think if you go crazy with nuts (i.e, you can polish off a bag in a day), occasional would actually be a "don't eat" because this type of food would not meet the first criteria, which is promoting a good psychological response.