Newfoundlanders? Venting and advice/help.

RachelR.

I'm in Newfoundland :(

I'm not doing the Paleo whole 30. I'm VERY NEW to this and am looking at baby steps here or there to help myself somehow. Long story.

Problem is that I have a HUGE problem with eating things that are not organic, free-range, or AT LEAST say "Fed without use of antibiotics, etc" on label. I live in a very rural place and am very financially strapped and only have like 1-2 basic, poor grocery stores and nearest city is 2+ hours away. And it's winter. And did I mention I am very financially strapped?

So, Newfoundland chicken ? Country Ribbon skin-on grain-fed (google it if you want)....that's what my mother has roasting in the oven now :( I'm an older, mature woman and I can't bear to look at this chicken much less eat it. And the only chicken breasts in the stores are the generic kinds that have no labels or brands or anything. And other than that there are some "Maple Leaf Natural selections" ones with about 6 ingredients of so of chicken, water, potato starch, cane juice, or something (no nitrates or celery extract...but still....).

I recently started eating wild moose since a family friend caught one, hung it to dry, cut it up and gave us a few meals out of it. I assume this is okay? And how much is 4 ounces? Like I'm not sure how much to eat at once. Anyone know what a 1/2 cup serving is in ounces? (tiny female with weak digestive system here).

I also am eating these salmon fillets that my mother has in the freezer that she says are "wild salmon frozen fillets" that a friend of hers got from Costco in St.John's. I have NO idea what these are really, but I'm eating them. They're like HUGE for one fillet, but I eat it all in one sitting anyway because that's how they are packaged. Anyone know if these are truly good to eat?