First time whole30, lots of questions

Erinmhess

Hi! My name is Erin. This is my first time doing Whole30. I’m so excited to start. I have so many ailments that I’m interested to see if they will be alleviated by this program.

I have followed some Whole30 recipes in the past, but never committed to the program. I didn’t realize what it was really about. I honestly thought it was a program for quick weight loss. And although I want to lose a significant amount of weight, I know that quick isn’t sustainable, so I wrote off the whole program as another fad diet. But a few weeks ago, something drew me to the program, and I started doing my research. I’m reading  The Whole30 right now,and I’m listening to “It Starts With Food.”

So I have some questions that I’m hoping some of you can share your experience to help me answer. 

First, I work at a breakfast restaurant. I get to work anywhere between 5am-7am, and my days are 10-12 hour days. I have figured out what I can and cannot eat at the restaurant during Whole30, and am planning to bring lots of my own meals. So that is not the issue. I usually don’t get a chance to eat until after 10am. The program says to eat 3 meals a day. I usually have a small snack and a latte before work (I usually wake up hungry, even at 3am), eat a meal sometime after 10, a snack on the way home, between 3pm-5pm, workout, then have dinner between 7-8, in bed by 9. On workdays I usually don’t get 3 solid meals. Would you suggest having a meal first thing in the morning? What would your suggestions be?

Like I said, I really want to start ASAP! But, I know I need to plan and prepare. I think I can start on Thursday January 4th as my day 0. I haven’t finished (nor will I by then) listening to or reading the books. Would you suggest waiting until I have finished the books, or can I just get started?