Back to school on Monday and I’m panicking!

SaraCO

Hi everyone!

I started Whole30 on the 1st.

I’m a middle school teacher and I go back to work on Monday the 8th and I’m panicking (and trying not to and for some reason everything is making me want to cry today and it’s NOT my period).

I’m the worst at consistently eating lunch at work, it’s the biggest struggle for me. Even when I bring something for lunch that would usually be super delicious and exciting for dinner I’ll sometimes just not eat it. I’m one of those rare teachers that works too hard (sarcasm, all teachers work too hard). Sometimes I don’t eat lunch because I get to absorbed with what I’m working on and forget that I only have 20 minutes before my kids come back from lunch, sometimes my lunch literally takes too much time to eat and I can’t drop my students off at lunch, go to the bathroom, heat up food and still have time to eat it (and forget eating during class, I’m trying to TEACH).

I think the part of my brain that decides what to eat when I’m at work is a 5 year old child. All she wants to eat is easy comfort food (oh, hai all the cheese and carbs).

Where I need help is planning lunches that I can eat quickly and won’t avoid (soup is OUT. That takes SO LONG to eat for me. And it’s always either too hot to eat quickly or not hot enough and kind of gross).

Any suggestions or resources?

Any one else in the same boat and want to commiserate/support each other?

I did grab a couple of RxBars, some jerky, a couple of single serving packets of olives, and a fruit/veg purée pouch thing to stash in my purse and in my desk for super emergency days. But I don’t want to rely on that for my actual lunch.

Ideally, I want to come out of this month in control of my lunch time and with foods I enjoy and will actually eat. Instead of just cramming chocolate in my face after dismissal every day. Because that 100% happens when I skip lunch.

Thanks everyone!