Day 6 - period arrived a week early

kiramazing

Hi all! This is my first go at Whole30 and so far I feel pretty great! I should start by saying I wanted to try Whole30 because I believe I have a hormonal imbalance of some kind (I am in my mid-20’s and have dealt with depression, menstural irregularities, lethargy, difficulty gaining weight/low BMI, low appetite, and troublesome skin since I was a teen). About 6 months ago my appetite was healthy for the first time in years and I startrd gaining weight (although I had weight to gain, it wasn’t necessarily healthy weight because I wasn’t eating very healthy foods) and my period was shockingly regular for the first time in years. I went from having literally no idea when it would arrive, to having it begin on the 12th or 13th of the month every month for the last six months. I should mention I have been on the Mirena IUD for the last 3 years and while it helped by making my periods significantly lighter, they were still unpredictable and lasted 8 days on average. I should also mention I have been anemic since I was a teen but I found a good iron supplement that agrees with my digestion about a year ago and have not been tested since to determine if I am still anemic. This would lead to miserable, long, painful periods to the point I need to load up on painkillers to go to work, and I have missed many events due to my period prior to getting thr IUD and having lighter periods (most so light a pantyliner was sufficient - I have probably worn maybe 10 light tampons in the last 3 years whereas I used to have to change my “overnight” tampons multiple times a day and actually passed out on campus once in college due to overwhelming pain and lightheadedness).