Canned Coconut milk Conundrum

Emby

I feel like an idiot asking this, but is anyone else having problems with canned coconut milk? I've never used it before two days ago, and it was a highly unpleasant experience.

I shook the can before opening. I opened it. There was a solid mass of coconut cream, with coconut water beneath. Nothing on earth would bring the two together. I tried stirring, with a chopstick and with a fork. I tried whisking. I tried an immersion blender. I tried a regular blender. I don't think anything short of nuclear intervention would have brought the two halves together.

Is this what canned coconut milk is supposed to be like? If so, how does one use it in recipes that just call for "well shaken" coconut milk? Should I be storing it differently, fridge instead of cupboard?

It was extremely discouraging in the middle of the recipe to stop and deal with this. I ended up having to pitch the whole mess and start over, and I used a refrigerated coconut milk instead. NOT fun in the middle of dinner prep.

Any ideas/suggestions?  Thanks for any insights!

• Moderators
1 hour ago, Emby said:

I feel like an idiot asking this, but is anyone else having problems with canned coconut milk? I've never used it before two days ago, and it was a highly unpleasant experience.

I shook the can before opening. I opened it. There was a solid mass of coconut cream, with coconut water beneath. Nothing on earth would bring the two together. I tried stirring, with a chopstick and with a fork. I tried whisking. I tried an immersion blender. I tried a regular blender. I don't think anything short of nuclear intervention would have brought the two halves together.

Is this what canned coconut milk is supposed to be like? If so, how does one use it in recipes that just call for "well shaken" coconut milk? Should I be storing it differently, fridge instead of cupboard?