Anita's Whole30 log - first time

AnitaC

First of all, hi! I'm new here. This is my first attempt at Whole30 and I'm finishing up Day 8.

Why am I doing the Whole30? A few reasons:

Weight loss - I'm always yo-yo'ing with that 10 pounds I want to lose but last year I moved so my walk to and from work dropped from 70 minutes to 20. I didn't realize how much of a difference that walk made to my body. And so the weight piled on so now I have 20lbs I want to lose. The wine doesn't help either.

Energy - I am lazy. I'll come home from work and just crash on the couch and can't bring myself to get in the kitchen and feed myself. And it doesn't help that I live in the downtown core where there are restaurants and take-out options galore. No fast food but still, eating out is pretty caloric. And if I'm eating out, I'm going to treat myself. So if I'm in my favourite Vietnamese restaurant, I'll get the deep-fried wontons with my soup and there's nothing low fat about Thai food. I'm hoping this reset will give me an energy level I've never had.

Focus - I have a tiny attention span and have a terrible time focusing at work so I'm hoping this will get my brain out of the constant fog.

Wine - I drink too much wine and that has to stop. I don't sleep well and it's just empty calories.

I bought the book last month and decided to start in January because I'm not strong enough to resist the gluttony that comes with Christmas. I bought it on my e-reader and I really wish I had of bought the actual book. E-readers are great but for novels or something that you're going to read from start to finish and not jump around. Oh well.

I started on January 4th. I didn't prep the day before so that morning, I went out and bought a bunch of stuff to tide me over for a few days. I made ratatouille from a Whole30-compliant recipe I found somewhere and I made chicken.