Severe IBS on Whole30

Hello!

This is my first time doing a whole30, I'm on day 6, and it has not been going to plan. My last meal before beginning the program didn't start me off on the right track and now I can't seem to recover. It started as diarrhea. About ten minutes after I'd eat something, I'd have severe intestinal cramps and then I had to go to the bathroom. It happened multiple times a day for about three days. The fourth day was better, only happened once or twice so I thought I was finally in the clear. But yesterday it came back with a vengeance. I don't have the diarrhea but I have the same cramping that sends me to the bathroom but nothing comes out. This is very uncommon for and I don't know what to do. It's so frequent and intense I'm considering stopping the program because I can't go be running in and out of class every 20 minutes.

Regarding meals, I alternate eating a vegetable frittata  (eggs, spinach, tomatoes, broccoli), a beef "stew" (tomato sauce, beef broth, and spices), scotch egg (self-spiced ground pork around a hard boiled egg), and a chicken soup (chicken, celery, onions, carrots, spices). I'll have the occasional strip of bacon with breakfast, hard boiled egg for a snack, or add avocado to the stew.. I've had a few bites of roasted cauliflower and Brussel sprouts once this week but that's it. Regarding nuts, I haven't been eating them. Oh and I basically drink La Croix exclusively. Love the carbonation. So I have about three or four of those a day I'd say.

Please help. I have no idea what is causing this problem but it can't keep happening. Thank you so much.

• Moderators

First, if you have medicine that helps with the diarrhea or cramping, it's okay to take it.  

Is it possible you have either a virus or some food poisoning that you're recovering from?