Ecstatic, Disheartened, Then Ecstatic Again

BetweenPenandthePins

Just completed my first Whole30 and let me tell you, today, day 31, was interesting to say the least.

Initially, I was very skeptical of the Whole30.  I have my Bachelors degree in Physical Fitness and Wellness Management and am completing my Master's degree in Human Performance.  I've also had my fair share of nutrition classes--not saying I'm an expert, but I have a decent understanding of how nutrition works.  I believed that the majority of weight loss that occurred during the Whole30 would be water weight, especially since it's lower carb than the Standard American Diet.  In order to validate my supposed future "results," I scheduled an appointment with the research lab at my university to get my body composition determined via DEXA (Dual-Energy X-ray Absorptiometry) at the end of the month (AKA, today).  (Sorry, Melissa and Dallas, I'm a bit of a skeptic)

Before the Whole30, my diet was out of control.  Since the start of graduate school, I went from 26% BF to almost 30%; my stress levels were at an all time high; and I was dealing with a lot of trauma.  Luckily, I was able to join my university's Olympic weightlifting (OWL) team, but my body composition and diet habits remained subpar.  I was always down on myself and making poor decisions that consistently impacted me negatively.  Fortunately, over the course of the Whole30, I saw a lot of non-scale victories, namely my confidence.  Things just started falling into place... I was making better choices, hanging out with the right people... I even started working on my spirituality more.  I stopped smoking hookah, not just because I had to, but because I stopped relying on it for social interaction.  Everything seemed to be going so well!  I was determined that if I must be feeling this good, my body must be following in my mindset's footsteps.