Is too many sweet potatoes possible?

seannymurrs

Just started Whole30 for the first time (on day 6), and have a question I’m hoping someone can answer. Is there a downside to having sweet potato as my main vegetable source throughout the day? I typically haves microwaved sweet potato and chicken thighs for lunch, and then another sweet potato with whatever protein source I choose for dinner. I’m also a runner and coach, so I’ve been thinking about adding some chicken breast and sweet potato as my workout snack. I definitely don’t mind eating that many sweet potatoes. They taste great, are easy to prepare, and are relatively cheap. I do want to check to make sure I’m not doing any kind of disservice to my body by not having more of a variety of vegetables. As a side note, my breakfasts do NOT include sweet potatoes. I eat a combination of eggs and egg whites scrambled with some frozen bell peppers & onion. I also drink a cup of coffee blended w/ coconut oil and ghee (1 tbsp each).

That's A LOT of sweet potatoes. Over exposure to ANY food can result in a food sensitivity so I'd be wary of that, and of the high starch content which will likely effect your blood sugar & probably prevent you from becoming fat adapted. Are you eating any non starchy veg other than the peppers?

I haven’t been, but that’s jest because I love sweet potatoes. Lol. I think I may switch to having Costco frozen Normandy blend with dinner (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots). I also feel as though I’m eating too much protein. I know we aren’t supposed to count calories, but I know from previous experience that what I’m eating is pushing 200g of protein a day. That’s wel over 1g per lb of my body weight, which I’ve always hear was the upper limit. 

• Moderators
4 hours ago, seannymurrs said: