New Orleans, Family, ... Yikes

dotamy

Hi guys,

I'm new to Whole30, but feel completely confident and excited about being able to truly change through this!

So...my question is...we are travelling to New Orleans at the end of June, within days of my having completed the 30. Our family all lives there, and food is an extremely emotional, familial thing. Both my husbands and my families are relatively overweight and cannot understand our current diets. (Aside from the fact that when we moved away, I dropped 35lbs and my husband dropped 20... right away!) I have no trouble explaining what we are doing...I WILL have trouble, however, with all of the rice-based, sugar-laced bombs that our families are excited about preparing.

I guess my question is -- how do I turn away Red Beans & Rice without hurting their feelings? How do I handle the eating-something-else when eating-what-everyone-else-is is a major cultural thing?

Thanks. :)

well you could certainly participate in a crawfish boil! < just no potatoes or corn haha>

I would just explain to them honestly your reasons in making this lifestyle change. Dont do it in a "im trying to convince you to do it too" way but more of a "im doing this for myself" way. Dont be critical of what they eat, just make it personal.

"i'd like to have more energy every day, live a healthier life, and therefore i wont be eating some of the typical food i used to eat when i lived here, but i'm really looking forward to spending time with you while i'm here and catching up!"

"i'd like to have more energy every day, live a healthier life, and therefore i wont be eating some of the typical food i used to eat when i lived here, but i'm really looking forward to spending time with you while i'm here and catching up!"

I'd actually be careful with this approach, because it CAN come off and sound holier than thou and judgmental.