Starting Whole30 today (20 Feb) - total newbie, looking for friends!

MeatEaterYogi

Hello all,

I am on day one of Whole30. I admit I haven't done a ton of meal planning yet, because I'm a PhD student, yoga instructor, and I ski almost everyday here in Alaska. My house is already full of fresh produce and local wild meats from the Alaska wilderness. I already make ghee and kombucha, as these are very yogi things to do! I will be buying more Whole30 goodies tonight. 

I am looking for online support, because, I love my friends, but they do NOT want to hear about any kind of diet plans from me (hah). It's fine if you somehow happen to be accidentally healthy and in great shape, but my friends are annoyed by the thought of planning for this or talking about it. Since I am not morbidly obese, it's apparently annoying that I'd like to be more fit. I do live alone, so I think being a closeted Whole30 follower will work OK for me for now, with the help of some online friends. 

I LOVE cooking, so I am excited about meal prep. However, I admit a large goal of this for me, in addition to alleviating joint pain in the morning and ending my occasional weird stomach pains and poops, is some weight loss. I have always been a big muscular person, and sometimes I am a great weight, but sometimes I get fat, and it is VERY easy for me to gain weight. For this reason, I'm really scared about not counting calories! I can definitely cook yummy decadent meals that are Whole30 approved, but I'm worried about gaining weight if I don't count calories. I'm looking forward to meeting some folks on here, getting, and giving support, when needed! Thank you! 

Hi @MeatEaterYogi! I will be starting tomorrow, February 21 for my second round of Whole30. I'd be more than happy to join you as a friend, accountability partner, and cheerleader. :-)