Halfway through! My hurdles and triumphs

Terin

Sorry if this is too long and in the wrong place, I'm a newbie!

This is my first Whole30, doing it with my partner thank goodness. We eat pretty healthy generally (conscientious omnivore, almost always cook at home, eat lots of colorful organic veggies, fruits, and free range meats & eggs), and i didnt have obvious food allergy issues, but my eating habits and mood have not been great the past year. I had been anxious and depressed, and was "coping" by consuming steadily more and more "snacky" processed wheat carbs like bread and crackers, lots of dairy, alcohol, and processed stuff, and I seemed to be in a rut where i was feeling bad so i "treated" myself to these unhealthy, easy comfort foods, but then I felt even worse, and the cycle continued. I knew I needed to hit the reset button, big time! I had researched the links between inflammation/gut health and depression, and am really hoping the whole30 can help me.

The first 5 or 6 days felt like a breeze. Cooking with whole foods was nothing new, I was totally satisfied with the creative and tasty meals we came up with, and was really patting myself on the back for sailing through without having the cravings I expected to have. (Cue the dramatic music that lets you know something terrible is about to happen)...