Jess’s Road to Success

mdjess86

Yay! So I didn’t do this the last three times, but for some reason this time is being kind of difficult for me so I thought the accountability might be nice. 

I’m a surgery resident, which means my work schedule and stress level is pretty high all the time. Right now I’m on night float, which in hindsight was a poor time to choose to do this, but I really felt I needed to do one, and I have a thing about months that fall on sundays/mondays so april seemed perfect!

I did my first whole30 last january, then another in september, then another this january, and now I’m doing another. I spent all of February in belize, where I didn’t have any control over my food, it was all made for me by the hospital we were working for, so I slowly ate worse and worse things for myself. Lots of carbs as it was a vegetarian hospital. March came around and I had my first month of night float (yes, two months in a row). For those who don’t know, night float means I work 5pm to 6am. Since I’m a 4th year I work sunday-thursday night and then go to our conference friday 3-5pm but have friday night and saturday night off. Which is amazing! As an intern we only have saturday night off, so honestly I feel like I have a lot of free time on weekends I’ve never had before, but I feel my time during the week is very limited.