Meal times pre and post workout

rockystamper

I’m new to Whole30 and just in the stage of getting a menu together so I can start (4/23). What I’m having a bit of trouble with is I’m confused on the pre/post workout  & normal dinner  meals??? My workout is from 5:30-6:30pm. When would I schedule my third meal??? Could the third meal be either my pre or post workout meal???! Any suggestions would be great! Thank you!

BTW, I tried searching but it’s a little overwhelming for this newbie-I’ll get there tho ;)

• 4 weeks later...

@rockystamper - I find that it really depends on your specific situation and what kinds of workouts you do. 

For me, I do pretty intense CrossFit sessions and if I were to eat right before, it would not be pretty. So I tend to have a smaller 'meal' about 1 hour before my workouts and eat my 3rd meal within 1 hour of finishing. This keeps my hunger at bay later in the day and gives me the energy I need to work out without feeling too full, and after the workout, I get to have my full recovery meal.

A few ideas for pre-workout ideas are: eggs and guacamole/avocado, chicken sausage and some nuts, turkey meatballs with whole30 mayo ( = I usually combine some protein with a healthy fat) 

After your workout, you can then fuel up with some protein and carbohydrates.

But this is just what works for me... hopefully, this helps a little. 

• 1 month later...
On 4/16/2018 at 4:12 PM, ladyshanny said:

Post workout is in addition to your regular meals and is typically eaten within 30-ish minutes of the conclusion of your workout.

I’m used to having a protein shake right after my workout. What are some acceptable options that I can throw in my workout bag? I’ve been relying on RxBars but I know those are suppose to be used as “last resort”

• Administrators
17 hours ago, Schwich said: