All Day Exercise and Low Blood Sugars

Vandy113

I currently work as a white water raft guide  and am getting ready to start my 3rd round of Whole30. This is my first time doing Whole30 as a raft guide. I've seen posts discussing timing of meals but my concern is this: I have a problem with my blood sugar bottoming out (Overall shakiness, tunnel vision, staticky hearing, etc.) while rafting and tend to use quick sugars (gu, sports drinks, glucose tabs) to pull them back up quickly because there's really no time for a time out while going down rapids. I make sure to eat fat and protein heavy on rafting days but still can't seem to make it through a full day (approx. 5 trips or 8 hours) without crashing at least once. What are some good Whole30 compliant substitutes for quick sugars listed above. I've seen a couple recommendations on other forums but my concern is that these substitutes won't be as quick acting as I need them to be (think 15 minutes or less). I'm open to any and all thoughts and suggestions

Thanks in advance!

• Administrators

Wow, that's quite a job! Could you use larabars, dates, those purree fruit/veggie pouches? You are definitely burning up a huge amount of energy so even though you should be fat adapted, you're going to need to fuel more regularly.