1st Time! Start Date: 10/29/18

dimickab

Hi all!

This is my first time attempting the Whole30. I'm not typically one to post on forums or social media, but I have some pretty awful, deeply-rooted food habits that I know will be hard to shake. Therefore, I figured I'd follow the book's advice and take advantage of all the resources and support this forum offers (not to mention the accountability aspect). So, here it is! My now public commitment: I plan to start the Whole30 program on October 29, 2018. Honestly, the part that I'm most worried about is learning how to read labels and remembering the rules and not having a breakdown in the grocery store when I'm trying to figure out what I can and can't buy. I've always hated cooking, and even buying ingredients for a normal (non-Whole30) recipe stresses me out. So, this post doesn't really require a response from anyone, but if you relate to that sentiment or have any tips regarding that aspect, feel free to share!

Thanks! Looking forward to this challenge!

• Moderators

Hi, @dimickab, welcome to the forum. 

Label reading is hard at first, but you'll figure it out pretty quickly. Be sure you have the Sneaky Sugar guide and Common Additives Cheat Sheet with you when shopping, and if there's an ingredient you see that you're not sure about, Google whole30 plus that ingredient to get the fastest answers. (Download the sheets I mentioned here:  https://whole30.com/pdf-downloads/)