Oh boy, I work in a restaurant!

kaybee

Yes, of course I knew it wouldn't be easy, but I think I'm in for more than I bargained for. My job, my career, my life, is food. Delicious, creative, very satisfying food. And wonderful wines. Yes, I work in a restaurant. In fact I own it (with my hubs). First 2.5 days of w30 were wonderful and I felt pretty good! Because i was home. But...tonight I went to work, just for a few hours, just to help out a bit. I ate a delicious and filling compliant meal beforehand (at about 5pm), hoping that would help, but it didn't. Carrying those amazing looking and smelling plates of non-compliant food was just torture. Luscious desserts. Don't even get me started on the wine. And I was only there for a short bit! I came home in a bummed out mood and had some squash, and bacon, and then a coconut lara bar. in short, nothing was satisfying me, emotionally, I'm guessing. It made me realize that I need a coping strategy above and beyond normal if I'm going to make it the full 30. Obviously I can't avoid work, nor do I want to. Yes, I can have them make me whatever I want, technically, but I know that what I require isn't necessary handy (for example, our delicious roasted chicken is prepped with butter under the skin. It's wonderful) And i dont want to be a pain to the chefs at the end of their long busy night. I'm going to bring in a jar of ghee, so that will open up some options, I'm hoping. But I suspect the key to getting through this month will be mental. I need to get my mind into a place where I recognize what's going on and then let it go. I can't be bummed out every night, feeling like "well, I guess I'll just go home and have some kale, whoop-dee-doo".

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Any advice? Sorry for the long whine... (Mmm, wine! Sigh...)

Yeah if you came home from a great restaurant and ate squash, bacon, and a Lara bar, that'd be a complete bummer. Ouch!