Practical newbie seeking advice

KimG74

Hello everyone,

I'm new to all things Whole30! I have been reading and researching this approach to wellness for about the past week. I am excited to get started and have picked Monday as my start date. I'm anxious because I have not been able to make good food choices stick in the past for more than a day or 2. I really want (need) for this to work. It's a long story, but I have medical issues that will be much approved by better dietary choices. Not to mention the improved feeling of wellness which no doubt is the best part of this lifestyle.

My biggest challenge is that I am at best culinary challenged. I have zero confidence in the kitchen that is realistically based on past experience. I've cut myself, a couple of times severely, in the past chopping veggies and I've set my kitchen on fire once cooking. I wish I was kidding about this because it would be quite funny if it didn't cause anxiety that holds me back. 

I'm also very practical and like to keep things simple so I can easily become overwhelmed.

If you're still reading, well first thank you, I'm asking you to please post anything that you've found helpful in your process with this 30 day plan. It could be recipe/food tips (MUCH APPRECIATED!) or just a light bulb moment you've had in your new mental clarity. 

Looking forward to reading your replies and other posts on this forum!

Kim

You can do it. It may seem overwhelming at first and we have all been there. The great news is at the end of the 30 days cooking will be easier. Just take it slow and easy the first 2 weeks. Make sure you leave yourself enough time for prepping and cooking. When I didn’t that is when things can happen.  Plan your meals for the week and when you will prep and cook them. Have a great one. I will be starting on Feb 1