Introduction Plus Biggest Challenge For Me

Czari

Good morning everyone!

This is my first post for the Whole30 program.  I have been researching the various Keto type diets for several months.  Although not following any particular one, I began adapting parts of them, beginning on January 1, primarily eliminating 95% of all processed foods which had pretty much been my entire diet as I live alone and have never enjoyed cooking.  That small change alone yielded a 5-lb weight loss.

I was getting confused with the differences between the Ketogenic, Paleo, and Primal diets while wrapping my mind around why a strictly vegetarian diet was taboo, why foods I'd thought were "bad" all my life, but ate them anyway (eg. foods like pepperoni that contain nitrates/nitrites) were staples for one of the diets and why oats weren't good for me on another.  While listening to one of my favorite podcasts, the host introduced a medical team that helped him with many illnesses with which he'd been living via diet.  During the podcast I heard the term "Whole30 eating," had no idea what that was and a search brought me here.