Many Whole 30s -- Always Different Results

Hello, W30 community!

I have been doing 1-2 Whole 30s per year for the last 4 years. I've also done a few Whole 45's, and several shorter stints (5-14 days) as re-sets in between. I have always gotten slightly different results ie, more/less gain in energy, more/less weight loss, more/less control of sugar dragon, more/less clear headedness and improved moods. I'm ok with the differences and just chalk it up to the many, many variables in the process. And I learn a little something with every experience, so that's good.

Something I hadn't counted on, though, was completing a Whole 30 in May and seeing basically NO improvements. In fact, I feel a little worse than when I started. I am SO TIRED by mid-afternoon, my sugar dragon is raging, I'm not sleeping great, my workouts/recovery suck, and I'm having a lot of digestive trouble (constipation, gas, and bloating. OMG, the bloating!)

When I wasn't starting to feel good around day 20, I thought, "OK, this is just one of those times that I have to add a couple more weeks to get the results." I'm happy to do that, but I'm thinking I also need to make some tweaks to push things in a better direction. I've already started adding more starchy veg to my meals, as that has helped in the past with the energy. (Not much help so far.) Also, just making sure I am eating enough can be a challenge. Other tweaks I know I can do make are around better control of my habits. A few that have been harder to break during this round include drinking too much coffee and relying too much on dried fruit--I've been justifying the caffeine for the energy boost and more prunes than usual to try to keep my fiber up for the constipation. Oh, and almond butter. That's always a food with no brakes for me, and I've been turning to it too much lately.

Here's some recent meals: 

2 sm. salmon cakes, 2 eggs over arugula salad w/olive oil & lemon juice, sliced avocado.