Night Shift

I am having trouble with figuring out when to eat with this round of whole30. I am a night shift nurse which means 6 days a week I work 12 hour shifts from 7p-7a. The rest of the week I kind of keep more normal hour with a slow progression back towards earlier waking and night time sleeping, but not ever a full switch in schedule. So, I don't know how to eat three meals a day without snacking. My metabolism is all over the place. I'm sticking to eating when I am hungry but sometimes this is like an apple with almond butter versus a balanced meal. Any other night shifters out there have this figured out? I would appreciate any suggestions. 

Disclaimer: I haven't worked overnights in ages, and certainly not since I discovered Whole30, so I'm basing any suggestions off what I know my body went through and inserting what I've learned about my own snacking habits through Whole30.

Your shifts swing, so one thing I'd probably do is try to find an "anchor point" that would remain the same on both. For instance, maybe that anchor point could be an evening meal time (5:30p? 6p?) that would serve as your dinner for day shift and meal 1 for overnights. I'd found it was easier for me to function and eat good food when my body knew I would feed it at that time, even if some days it was for an "end meal" and other days it was the start of my day.

I'd also consider putting together several mini-meals that hit all the macros (basically half or quarter what you'd consider a regular meal, and maybe even put together in a way that will allow you to eat it quickly if needed). That should allow you to follow your hunger cues without feeling like some slight hunger requires you to eat a full meal, and without feeling like you absolutely have to go a handful of hours in between since nurses don't necessarily get a chance to sit down at regular intervals.