Homemade kefir

Amanda_M

Hello!  I am new to the Whole30 and have read It Starts with Food and The Whole 30.

I have had psoriasis, eczema, and very sensitive skin since I was an infant.  It doesn't take much for me to become inflamed and itchy!  Sometimes these triggers are external, but one major reason I am doing the Whole30 is to determine whether any food sensitivities might be a factor as well.

At the beginning of the summer, I tried a new deodorant (very natural, no weird ingredients), but for some reason, my skin hated it!  After one use, my armpits were inflamed for MONTHS.  So I went back to one that I knew had been ok before, but I still had issues, so I reluctantly stopped using deodorant at all to give my skin a break. 

Then in August, I began making homemade kefir with organic milk and drinking between 1-2 cups per day.  I had heard that unlike other cultured foods, the specific microorganisms in kefir would actually colonize your gut and take over, rather than just "passing through" like the good bacteria in yogurt do after about 48 hours.  I was very pleased with the results: I found that I rarely even felt as though I *needed* deodorant anymore after I started this habit!  I was sweating less (even in 90+ degree heat!) and even when I did sweat, the odor was not a problem.  Since odor is caused by bad bacteria feeding on the sweat, I assumed that the good bacteria from the kefir that were taking over my gut were balancing me out and making this little miracle possible.