not sleeping

annierl

Hello, I am new to Whole30 and am on day 5.  So far so good with respect to food.  The odd thing is that since I have started I am having a really hard time going to sleep and staying asleep.  I'm only sleeping a few hours a night.  I did not have this problem before Whole30.  Melatonin is not helping.  I'm assuming it's a part of the detox process.  I used to drink red wine at night.  I know I just need to be patient.  Is the poor sleep quality a part of detoxing?  How long before you should expect your sleep quality to improve?  I realize this will vary from person to person.  I know once I get to other side my sleep will be better than ever.  I'm just surprised by this side effect.  Thanks for your advice!

• Moderators

It can be for some people. Are you eating enough? Getting enough carb-dense veggies? See the Meal Template in my links below, and if you could list what you have been eating for the past few days that could help us troubleshoot. 

How's your sleep hygiene? Are you turning off screens an hour before going to bed? Is your bedroom nice and dark and cool? These can all be factors in sleep quality.

Keep going, you can do this!

My sleep hygiene is terrible b/c my husband likes to go to sleep with the TV on.  But that is nothing new.  Before Whole 30 I could fall asleep fine with the tv on.   I feel good, other than being tired.  So far I'm not having crazy cravings or going through major sugar withdrawals.  The food is delicious.