Natural flavoring

Auttie

I am new to whole30. I’m a little confused with natural flavorings..... what confuses me is they are on compliant and noncompliant foods. Why are we eating something that is a mystery? For example I’ve seen Kirkland chicken broth as a compliant Whole30 item on many sites, however it has natural flavoring. In my cupboard I have a jar of Pace picante sauce with ingredients that are all compliant, it also has natural flavoring. Then it (the Pace) says the ingredient from corn in this product comes from genetically modified crops. Where is the corn coming from?! ..... the natural flavoring? Or is it coming from distilled vinegar? .... if the label doesn’t tell you what kind of vinegar is it out? 
Please someone clarify for me. Thanx!!!

• Moderators

Natural flavors are allowed, though you are certainly welcome to choose not to have them if that's important to you.

I would assume the corn mentioned on the salsa is probably from the vinegar if there's not actually corn listed as an ingredient. Any vinegar except malt vinegar (because it contains gluten) is ok on whole30. Salsa is not really difficult to find compliant versions of, you could check some other brands to see if you could find one that uses vinegar from other sources if you're concerned about it.