1 week down!

Nicole

One thing I keep thinking is this: why am I counting the days when I am enjoying this and don't want it to stop?

Man, this first week has been really interesting for me. I've been paleo for a year and a half and I'm still learning things about myself!

One very interesting thing that I learned is this: I think that a lot of my past cheats have to do with peer pressure and possibly wanting to not stick out in social situations...

Emphasis on "I think"!

But I have been getting quite a lot of grief for this Whole30 challenge. Why? I have no idea! I am already paleo! Why do they choose to tease me now? I cut out wine, chocolate and cheese... The only things I didn't give up on paleo, and they decide that now is the time to tease me about corn tortillas and bread crumbs? I'm sorry guys, but that boat sailed for me a long time ago! I already know that wheat and corn make me curl up and die! Now, if you tease me about cheese... That's a different story.

Actually, the reason I've been getting so much attention lately is that I am not drinking... That woke them up! And so the self evaluations being projected onto me have begun. Along with the excuses: "but cavemen used to drink fermented fruit and it made them drunk and blah blah blah" That's nice, you keep telling yourself that. However, for me- I'm not drinking because I want to feel a great change in my life. I want to do other things besides drinking. I want to socialize without booze. That sounds brilliant to me! So you have your fermented fruit and I will have my sparkling water and lime.

However, I've also had a lot of people cheering me on! And even had a friend ask me some advice for the Whole30 because she was about to start hers the next day. I love it.

Somethings that are the same:

-I still have my hives and my cold sore, but both seemed to have peaked and don't seem to be getting worse.