RK in Denver, CO— Starting the adventure...

2GreyCats

Hello, everyone— 

I’m Rhonda, but I usually go by RK online. 

I am a Whole30 beginner, and for me this is Day 5– I started on June 10. One of the reasons I decided to start right now is that I live in Denver, Colorado, and June is apricot season! I am *demented* about apricots and peaches, two of our local specialty fruits. However, a sudden late frost at the beginning of May probably wiped out 80% of this year’s peach crop... alas.

I am doing Whole30 because my weight isn’t budging much at all, and in the last six months my BP has gone up into the “borderline/high” range, and I really, *really*, REALLY do not want to end up on BP meds like my mother was. I also have ADHD, which Doesn’t Help At All with impulsive eating behaviors. Also, because of that, I really hate monotony— my DH can cheerfully eat exactly the same thing every morning, and does. That’s not me. I love eggs, and I like potatoes, but not every morning! So I want to find some other things that I can have for breakfast.  So far, I have observed that it’s not currently the sugar dragon that is roaring at me, but the Cheese Monster and her henchman the Bread Gremlin.

One challenge for me this summer is that I teach at a community college, and I have two classes back to back Tuesdays and Thursdays. So I am at work (online in a videoconference) from 10:30 to 3:15 on those days, with a 15-minute break between the first and the second class. I haven’t figured out how to manage lunch on those days. 

Hope everyone is doing well on this hot Sunday afternoon!

• Moderators
18 hours ago, 2GreyCats said:

So I want to find some other things that I can have for breakfast.

Anything you can have for any other meal works great for breakfast. Try hash (like this one: https://whole30.com/melissas-chicken-hash/) or a breakfast salad (like this one:  https://fedandfit.com/the-breakfast-salad-2/) or soup or leftovers from last night's dinner.