Total Noob -- in Alaska

Katrina Stonoff

We haven't even STARTED yet (we start tomorrow), and I'm already discouraged.

I've eaten salad for lunch for years, but of course my Keto salad dressing is non-compliant. I was really excited to try the Whole30 brand of dressings -- they sound amazing -- but Thrive doesn't ship to Alaska. (Aside: why the heck not? If I'm willing to pay extra for it, why wouldn't you?)

Second, I'm a big soda drinker (Diet Coke with Splenda). I really like Hintwater (which I used to order by the case before we moved to Alaska), so I thought ... no big deal. But they don't ship to Alaska either. :-( 

I'm sure you all have gone through these kinds of crashing disappointments already, and I sound like a really whiner ... but I have to admit I'm a LOT less enthusiastic about having to choose between eating salads plain or making my own dressing (who has time?!). And I've tried and tried and tried to reprogram myself to drink plain water, and it has never worked. I grew up drinking soda and sweet tea, and I just don't get enough liquid if there's no flavor in my glass. I simply don't drink it. Like I said, I have tried repeatedly. And I'm almost 60. I don't have a lot of hope that suddenly I'll discover I love drinking tasteless water.

Third, I have a very specific question to ask on the forums. And I'm sure it's been answered a thousand times. But I cannot find a "search" button to save my life. And when I read the rules, it says to search before asking. *sigh* Oddly, when I "search" for the word "search," it appears to show a search button, but it's buried under the Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. buttons, and I cannot access it.

I'm trying really hard not to just give up before I even start.

• Moderators