Gluten free oats?


Recommended Posts

So tomorrow in my reintro is Gluten Free Grains Day!

I am not understanding the deal with oats. As far as I understand, they don't really contain gluten but cross-contamination is so high that they are considered a gluten grain. Which is why people who have celiac don't eat them. Right?

But then... If I'm just looking for a few different grains to try tomorrow, shouldn't the gluten which is probably not in the oats be negligible enough?

Why is it that all of the oats and oat products I have at home are labelled as "containing oat gluten" instead of "may contain wheat gluten"? (My son has a nut allergy so I am used to dealing with "may contain". But this is not an allergy.) Again, I thought oat gluten wasn't a thing.

Basically, confused...

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Oat gluten is a new term to me, I haven't seen it before. This article has a little bit about what might be going on here:  https://ceres.co.nz/blog/no-oats-are-not-gluten-free-heres-why/

For Whole30 purposes, I would say oats are ok to use for non-gluten grain reintroductions. If you know or strongly suspect you are sensitive to gluten, you might choose to separate oats out into their own day of reintroductions to have a better idea of how they affect you.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...