Kelly Clinton Posted March 10, 2021 Share Posted March 10, 2021 I am going out to dinner with some coworkers on Friday and they want to go to a restaurant called the Mala project. I looked at the menu ahead of time and decided I should get scallops, crab stick, broccoli, and sweet potato. I called originally to see if they cook the scallops in butter and how they prepare the food and I told the restaurant that I'm sensitive to dairy (I do actually think I may be lactose intolerant). He said that they don't even keep dairy or milk products in the restaurant and that all the vegetables are prepared raw in the mala oil. I asked what is in the mala oil and he said that it is made primarily of dried chili peppers, chili powder, douban paste, Sichuan peppercorns, clove, garlic, star anise, black cardamom, fennel, ginger, cinnamon, salt and sugar. These ingredients are simmered with beef tallow and vegetable oil for many hours, and packed into a jar. This means that it is not Whole 30 approved, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.