Recommended Posts

I am going out to dinner with some coworkers on Friday and they want to go to a restaurant called the Mala project. I looked at the menu ahead of time and decided I should get scallops, crab stick, broccoli, and sweet potato. I called originally to see if they cook the scallops in butter and how they prepare the food and I told the restaurant that I'm sensitive to dairy (I do actually think I may be lactose intolerant). He said that they don't even keep dairy or milk products in the restaurant and that all the vegetables are prepared raw in the mala oil. I asked what is in the mala oil and he said that it is made primarily of dried chili peppers, chili powder, douban paste, Sichuan peppercorns, clove, garlic, star anise, black cardamom, fennel, ginger, cinnamon, salt and sugar. These ingredients are simmered with beef tallow and vegetable oil for many hours, and packed into a jar. This means that it is not Whole 30 approved, right? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...