Day 6 13 January 2013

Bellatrix

Hi everyone,

This is my first whole 30, I've been eating Primal for about 18 months with an atrocious period over xmas. I had noticed the sugar cravings had crept back, my nose was always congested and I had lost the drive to cook and eat well, basically I was falling into a slump.

I had resolved to finish the year (2012) better than I had started it and when I took my measurements in January I had achieved my goal, I'd lost 13 cm but my weight had stayed basically the same. I lift weights twice a week and ride horses almost every day so maintaining doesn't seem to be a problem for me (these days). Anyway, what brings me here is the drive to be better, to get back the great feeling I had when I first went primal, to lose the congestion, to be happy for my family (and self), and to love the life I've been blessed with. I've had a lucky escape with breast cancer 18 months ago which led me to clean up my act, I rejected toxic treatments in favour of a huge diet and lifestyle change, discovered the primal way, heavy lifting and moved to a rural property to do the things I love in life and so far it's working. Well for the most part, with the muddying of my diet I've become less tolerant, I'm feeling more tired and I get depressed more easily.

So cue the whole 30, I need a dietary kick in the butt. I've long suspected the nose congestion was an intolerance to dairy but I've clung to it, like a sugar addict to a mars bar. I don't eat eggs or eggy dishes and I've used that as an excuse to have paleo banana bread for breakfast everyday rather than seek out an alternative. I recognise these for what they are excuses, and I've committed 100%.