Wild Rice is not actually a grain—it’s a grass… is it allowed?

Recommended Posts

I just found out that wild rice isn’t really a grain at all: it’s actually completely separate from brown or white rice and is technically a grass that grows in marshy areas. With that in mind… assuming sprouts are allowed… and other seeds… wouldn’t wild rice be allowed on Whole30? 

I’m strictly gluten-free/dairy free and low sugar or no sugar regularly, so Whole30 isn’t too different for me (basically just cutting rice, the occasional gluten-free bread and alcohol). So, I’m not trying to skirt the rules here, but I think similarly to how sweet potatoes are allowed, but white potatoes are nightshades and highly inflammatory (and off limits), we should be able to differentiate here. 

Interested in well-informed responses. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.