Autoimmune protocol and low FODMAPS

aph

I have plenty of Whole 30 experience, but I am brand new to the Autoimmune Protocol and low FODMAPS. Anyone else doing this as well? I am trying not to be gruff about everything I have to drop from my daily intake and just focus on the thought of feeling better. It just seems so bland :(

I am also doing it with the Autoimmune Protocol. At first I was just going to do the straight 30, but the more I read I realized I really need to try it. It's tuff enough just the 30, then taking out the nightshades are killing me. They are a staple in my diet. Then the more I read on other websites about foods and Autoimmune Diseases, they also recommend staying away from sweet potatoes, all nuts, all fruit. I want to do what my body needs, but that doesn't leave much at all! Breakfast is the toughest, I don't want meat and veggies for breakfast. I was an oatmeal every morning gal. I would love for some input from others doing it also and what their favorite meals are. ...oh and I didn't mention I'm allergic to broccoli, green peas, dairy and beef. Take out all the other stuff and I feel like I don't have much to eat!!

Chris, I keep just trying to focus on what I can eat instead of can't, but yes, I miss the nightshades too!! I used to put roasted tomatoes and peppers on everything! ANd I was an eggs and veggie for breakfast person. Now its meat of some kind. Would sausage appeal to you for the morning? Hopefully we see great results from extra efforts!! Good luck!

• 1 month later...

I'm on the AIP too and am on Day 27. It's been especially hard for me not being able to have eggs. While the protocol has helped immensely with my energy, I am still experiencing symptoms (I have Crohn's disease), and will probably have to extend the diet well past 30 days to start healing.