Michelle's first W30

Jvillemich

Tomorrow is day 1. After two years of eating paleo at about 85-95% compliant, I'm doing my first Whole30 - and I'm stoked. During that time, I've watched Melissa Joulwan (my hero) and others do W30s and have always wanted to give it a go. I wasn't ready until recently because I thought I was doing ok. But I realized that my 'cheats' were becoming more frequent, I was eating way too many nuts, and that I was entirely too blasé about alcohol consumption.

I want to throw something out while I'm here, however. Over these last two years I've gained about 15-20 pounds. Some of it is muscle, as I've been doing CrossFit for those two years as well, but most of it is fat. (Im not a very good crossfitter but i do my best). So, I'm wondering why. I would say my diet has been pretty darn clean. Especially compared to the grain and soy centered diet of my pre paleo days. I know I'm not supposed to compare myself to others but we all know that's tough. My husband, who's been paleo & cf'ing as long as I have, lost 40 pounds of fat and gained a great deal of muscle. He looks amazing while I've gotten chubbier. It's frustrating, for sure, so I'm hopeful that my W30 (or more) will reset my engine.

My other major goal during my W30 is to do everything I can to reduce my stress level. I have a demanding job, a high school junior (college! Yikes!), and my husband recently started his own business. I'm anxious to hear more from Melissa & Dallas about stress & health. In the meantime, I'm going to re-discover meditation during this month.

The best news is that a few friends are joining me for Whole30. I'm looking forward to the adventure with them.

Day 1

B'fast

3 eggs cooked in olive oil

1/4 of a huge sweet potato drizzled with the olive oil from the eggs

Leftover roasted green beans

Pre WO

a bit of meatloaf

Post WO

More meatloaf & a bit of sweet potato

Lunch

chicken

Cherry tomatoes, roasted cauliflower and sweet potato to fill plate