Tammy's 1st Whole30

tammy323

I'm not good at remembering to journal but I had a few issues yesterday so I figure a food diary might help pinpoint what the issue might be. A little bit about me: I've battled digestion problems all my life with it culminating in gatroparesis about 4 years ago. I did things like eat low-fiber, eat before 5 (or else I'd get sick), eat processed foods. I still felt bad and I missed fresh fruits and vegetables so I tried a vegan diet 2 years ago. That seemed to be working okay but I'd still get sick every once in awhile and still had stomach pain and IBS symptoms. This past December I checked in a book about the Paleo diet (I work at a library) and thought I'd give it a try. I was a little worried about all the meat since, in the past, it seemed to take my stomach a loooong time to digest beef and other meats.

Well it agreed with me so the vegan lifestyle was though (yay bacon!). I found the Whole9 site while researching Paleo diets and read about the Whole30. Plus Nomnompaleo was doing it and I was interested in her journey.

So here I am on Day 3! I feel pretty good today after running into something that gave me stomach pains last night. I'm thinking it is either coconut milk or the guar gum in coconut milk. Also, my joints feel a lot better (I have fibromyalgia and SI joint pain) so that is another awesome bonus. I hope when it gets a little warmer outside (it is 25 degrees right now in VA) I can start training for a 10K I signed up for in April.

Here's what my Day 2 looked like:

Meal 1 - 2 eggs fried in coconut oil, 1/2 sweet potato with cinnamon, black coffee

Around 11:00 - 4 oz G&T Trilogy kombucha (that plus probiotic plus magnesium really keeps things moving)

Meal 2 - 3 oz ground lamb, 1/2 sauerkraut, 1/3 cup cumin roasted carrots, 1/2 avocado