What to do with coworkers who like to bring "snacks"...

josymarie

I'm on Day 11 of my Whole30 and all week I've been having to ignore the snacks that my attending has decided to bring to rounds every morning (I'm a medical student, and I work in a hospital)...She's being very nice, and wants to create a fun environment. BUT she brings Girl Scout cookies, one of my favorite things...And everyone around me eats them, and all I can do is just say no. It's been pretty rough...

Then this afternoon was the worst, she brings a bag of chips and Reese's pieces (my FAVORITE CANDY EVER, and the only food I've had a food dream about since starting the Whole30). I resisted though, then when asked if I could run them back to the work room after we were done I was just like "no! I'm not touching those things, I can't eat them!"

Apparently my attending overheard me, and she immediately felt bad that she was bringing all this stuff that I couldn't eat. She asked what I could eat and is planning on bringing healthy stuff tomorrow. It taught me a good lesson...Sometimes its a good idea to speak up, people are very receptive to it! Just wanted to share some of my troubles, and how willing some people are to help you out when you let them know what you're trying to do!

It is nice when you get support for healthy eating choices. I'm a nurse, so work in a hospital setting too, and know that it can be a battle ground of poor food choices. The hardest part is not catching a break for hours and hours (and hours) sometimes, and you get hungry enough to want to eat whatever is is front of you. Before I started eating W30, I used to eat the available sugary things for fast energy, but then would have multiple energy crashes as a result.