Whole 30 ... Away from Home

EmilyGray

This is my first time doing a Whole 30 and I only heard about the program a few weeks ago. I have an e reader and bought the It Starts with Food book shortly after hearing about the program in order to understand the theory of the eating plan in more detail. I have adjusted my diet many times over the past 25 years and experienced very dramatic health benefits as a result. After having a child however my attention to diet has slipped and I have been unable to generate the motivation and focus to clean up my diet. I do continue to eat gluten free and have been consistent with this for over 12 years. I have eaten a grain free and potato free diet for a number of years prior to having a child. During pregnancy I found myself very hungry and so started to bring in gluten free grain products and potatoes to help with satiation. I have not yet switched back to my former dietary restrictions. This has resulted in weight gain and feelings of general fatigue which I did not experience prior to including gluten free grain products in my daily diet.

I feel very certain that eating grain free is something I need to do long term. I also recognize the value of reducing sugar consumption and dairy intake. I was a vegetarian for 20 years but eventually reintroduced meat after I started eating grain free to ensure I was getting enough nutrition. I was surprised how easy it was for my body to begin eating animal proteins again. I felt much stronger almost immediately. I believed it also helped to stabilize my blood sugar.