Portions for Stewing Meat + ? Re: Meat Consumption

Kaleena

Hi All,

I'm new to eating meat and I'm making this recipe:

http://paleoinpdx.com/2012/11/16/simple-supper-friday-butter-beef-stew/

I'm using 1lb of stewing beef from the local farm-raised , hormone free butcher shop so I don't know if it's lean, how many calories, fat etc. Between two people, how much of this would you eat? We're an active, hungry couple. Any help would be appreciated.

On a bit of a side note I'll just add my other question to this post. Is it really okay to eat meat so often? How many times a week do you eat beef, for example?

Lately I've been eating it 2-3 times because I haven't eaten meat in 12 or 13 years and I actually like it. I've also taken a pretty strong liking for wild boar but that's pretty expensive! I'm worried about health but also, let's be honest here, I don't want to gain weight.

Thoughts, reassurances?

It's been a long time since I was a vegan, but some days I can easily eat a half a pound of meat at a meal or two. I don't try to do the math on this though over the whole day, I just notice if I cook a pound of something and ate half. My body loves meat and I still have not been able to overeat on it even though it seems like a lot sometimes- what is "a lot"? So much unlearning of propaganda to do...

For my hubby, me and my 2 year old son, that would be a meal. If I was feeding my 18 year old step son, that would be his portion! Course he is still growing and a black belt in Tae Kwon Do and he has class 5 times a week. I roasted 2 chickens Sunday and he joined us for dinner and he clearly ate HALF of a 5 pound bird and a massive portion of roasted veg. He is about 5'10 and 160.

As for eating beef, we eat beef 4-5 times a week, rounding it out with chicken and pork. My son and I eat fish, but my husband does not, so that is usually lunch.

• Moderators