Day 1, and a couple of questions

Avalanche

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie - day 1. I've read the book and spent a lot of time on the site and reading posts in the forums. This first week I'm eating mostly foods that I already know and love, and then will slowly start exploring other options. If I try to do too much at once it always ends poorly. I used to be REALLY dedicated to eating only real foods, so this is familiar territory for me. Unfortunately over the last couple of years I have been slipping more and more and eating worse and worse. I have a bunch of random health issues - lots of joint pain as well as ibs-like symptoms, and I don't feel good most of the time. And yes, I also want/need to lose a bunch of weight. So I'm ready for a change. On the fitness side of things I'm about as active as a rock, so I'm going to be phasing in activity over the 30 days as well. I made a meal plan for the week, and did a big shop yesterday, so for the most part, I feel ready. I think weekends are going to be the hardest - no booze, no crazy food consumption. And I'll miss dairy like crazy.

Of course there are still some question marks, and I want to make sure I'm getting this right. I have a few compliance questions:

1. If smoked salmon uses evaporated cane juice in its brine, that is a no-no, right? The NI does say 0g sugar though, so I'm not sure. I just bought a ton of it not really thinking about that, and I'd rather figure this out on day 1, than be happily eating it all month only to discover it's non-compliant. It will freeze well if I need to hold off.