Just got on board the Paleo-paddy-wagon, even if my partner isn't :)

Mary Beth

Hello Whole9 Community and fellow newbies to the Whole30!

My name is Mary Beth and this is my first time doing a Whole30. Until two weeks ago, I knew absolutely nothing about the paleo diet, never heard of Melissa or Dallas, and never visited the Whole9 website.

After stumbling upon their website, I spent several hours and days reading through all of the content, articles, blogs, success stories, and more, and couldn't get enough! I ordererd their book, It Starts With Food, and read it in two days. I was convinced.

I was going to wait to start my Whole30 until March 18th (since being an Irish Catholic girl means St. Patty's Day is practically a holy day of obligation, filled with beer, whiskey, and irish soda bread!) but then I read the line in the book that said, "Start now. Today. This minute. If you give yourself excuses to delay, you may never begin." So that was it. I set my alarm 30 minutes earlier than I normally do and went to sleep last night with the intent of waking up today and beginning the journey.

A little background on me - I am 26 years old, work full time as a financial analyst, and consider myself to be healthy and active. I am a runner and completed my first two half marathons last year with a goal of running my first full marathon this year. I am studying to take and pass the CPA exam. I am a busy person, but not too busy to change my eating habits and get into an even more active and healthy lifestyle. I considered myself a healthy eater (until I read their book) and have never been able to get myself to the 'lean & toned' physique that I desire, always losing and gaining the same 10 lbs (tummy pooch) over the last few years. I will not lie - weight loss was my primary motivatation. But after reading all of the healthy benefits that come from eating a clean diet, this Whole30 challenge means so much more to me, and I am ready to take it on!