Help! I need ideas on meal planning!!

Amanda Tate

I have no clue what to make for meals. I have purchased organic chicken legs and will be serving them with green beans for dinner to night but do not know how to season the legs? I am a fryer(and I can't do that) and a BBQ sauce person(but it has sugar)....newbie here....where do you come up with meal ideas? I have to satisfy a 6yr and 4yr old too....

I highly recommend getting a copy of Well Fed. It's amazing and has a ton of easy recipes that can be modified in a million ways. You can also check out her website clothesmakethegirl.com Most, if not all the recipes in Well Fed are on her website. I still recommend the book though-it's formatted nicely and is easy to follow.

ISWF has good recipes too-I'm making the salmon cakes tonight in fact. Talk about easy! The recipe forum here has lots of good ideas too! And NomNom Paleo is a good site-

Hope that helps!

I agree that you can use books, blogs, and this forum. It Starts with Food has ideas, too. And, there is a whole section on kids here that may be of help. This is a great source from one of the moderators here: http://www.wholelifeeating.com/author/tom-denham/

Just follow the meal template for amounts of food and you will be fine. I understimated the amount of food I would need at each meal, but there is no reason to be hungry!

For tonight, I would season the legs using the same seasonings you might use to fry them. Things like salt, pepper, garlic, and paprika will work fine if you just put them right on the meat.

You can brown the chicken in a pan (in coconut oil, ghee, or olive oil) and finish them in the oven.

You will probably need more than one vegetable. Something like sweet potato or squash will be nice for you right now, if you have any on hand or can get some. You can even make sweet potato fries using a compliant oil. Carrot would also be nice.