Military (and panicking...just a little)

Claire_C

Hi! I'm new to the Whole 30...and have two fairly separate challenges facing me (if I wait until they are past...I'll never start!)

1. I'm at school in Dahlgren, VA (the nearest Whole Foods/Trader Joes is an hour away and I have access to a Food Lion/Wal-Mart) and have a month in a hotel. My only ammenities include a microwave and a refrigerator. I am ordering some Paleo Meals from a Whole 30 endorsed site...but wanted to see if anyone had some creative ideas!

2. As soon as I graduate, I'll be heading off to meet my ship on deployment...where the meat is...questionable and the eggs are definitely not real (unless you eat hard boiled eggs...no faking those!). However, I can guarantee that nothing on a ship is organic/free range/etc. Does anyone have any advice as to what family members can send or Whole 30 approved protein supplements?

Thank you!

tuna/other canned fish

fruits and veggies

smoked salmon/avocado/lettuce wrap in nori (one of my standard lunches at work)

almond butter (great with celery, apple, banana, etc)

For both now and when on the ship you might find these helpful: http://primalpacs.com/. I usually keep a good supply on hand for when I know getting quality food may be difficult. I've also been considering trying soem from http://stevesoriginal.com/store.

I'm sure others will be along soon to add their ideas.

I'd also add, it doesn't have to be organic or free range. Yes that's the best but not all of us can afford that. There's a success story here http://forum.whole9life.com/topic/7066-finished-whole30-my-results/page__hl__organic%2C__fromsearch__1 from someone who had great results but never had organic or free range meat or eggs. We all do the best we can. Good luck