Starting Whole30 tomorrow (25th June)

magda

Hi everyone :)

I'm here writing to you all the way from Poland :) I'm ready to finally do something about my crazy eating patterns, so I'm starting my Whole30 tomorrow and will keep myself accountable here.

I'm doing it mainly for psychological reasons. Losing a few pounds and toning up a bit will be a great bonus too ;) but I'm not overweight and I exercise pretty regularly. However, my eating habits are out of control and this has to change. I lost some weight (~20 LBS) about 3 years ago following a conventional wisdom healthy diet (whole grains, low fat etc.) and sticking with low glycemic foods. I managed to keep the weight off for a while and looked and felt good. But then I started playing with veganism. I never bothered to look at macronutrients in my foods but I'm guessing the amount of protein I was consuming dropped significantly and the amount of carbs went up. I was constantly hungry, so I was eating HUGE amounts of everything, to the point when I felt like my stomach was about to burst :( Of course this caused the weight to creep back on...

Then I quit veganism and started experimenting with primal eating. However, I had a massive sweet tooth/ carb addiction, so I was "low carb when there's no cookie in sight". I realized things were really out of control when one day I ate the whole nut and honey based ("paleo") pie crust. I literally ate the whole thing with i don't even want to think how many grams of sugar in it... And I knew I shouldn't be eating it, but somehow I still did.

SInce then I've been trying to stick with primal eating and avoid cookies. No more pie crusts have been eaten, but I notice that I eat far too much nuts and dairy and since they are "allowed" on primal plan, I tend to go overboard... While I feel much better not eating grains and added sugar, I feel like I'm constantly cheating and talking myself into thinking that it's OK to eat buckets of greek yogurt with nut butters...