Karen's Whole30 Extravaganza!

Karen

I've been eating pretty clean for a few years but some stuff has been sneaking in and, due to some health issues I'm still working through (http://forum.whole9life.com/topic/826-joining-the-whole30-club/), decided to clean things up even more. I've gone super clean for 21 days at a time, but it also involved shakes and supplements and very little protein. I crave protein ALL the time so that was hard. I'm excited this program encourages it!

I started yesterday - June 23 around noon. Our city has one of THE best farmer's markets in the nation so I spent my morning there. I got my last rice crispy bar (that's my one cheat when I go) and stocked up on some veggies and grass-fed spare ribs.

Morning (last hurrah before Whole 30)

- rice crispy bar

- almond milk strawberry yogurt

Lunch

- beets drizzled w/olive oil

Dinner

- rib eye steak, pan fried w/coconut oil

- sauteed garlic scapes (mmm!)

I know, I know, someone's going to tell me I'm not eating enough. I went to the grocery store last night to stock up on a few things and will make a few meals today. Because I have so many food sensitivities, I lost my interest in food and don't have much of an imagination so I make what I have to to get by but that's it. I hope to improve upon that throughout my Whole30.

I wanted to add the list of ailments /symptoms I have at the moment, no matter how significant.

- Right ear - itchiness / pressure (4+ years)

- Flaking skin on ear lobes

- Puffy/scaly eyelids

- Dry, flat skin & hair

- Coated throat & slightly stuffy nose

- Slight bloat, can't pinpoint why today

- Eczema on hands flared up and is somewhat raw

- Constipation

- Slight foggy head

- Tired behind the eyes, which for me typically signals I'll be sluggish today

- Slightly erratic waking temperatures this month

- Memory issues - doesn't seem to be as much of an issue at work as it does at home