First whole 30 challenge 3/25

MeghanE

Hi! I am planning on starting my first whole 30 on Monday 3/25... I would start tomorrow but I have had a getaway planned with my girlfriends this weekend forever. I am going to use it as my last big hurrah!

I have been eating mostly Paleo since mid December 2012 and have noticed improvements in my body, mood and energy levels. However, recently, I have found myself slipping and can see how crappy I feel. I figured committing to the whole 30 challenge would be a great way to get back into a healthy lifestyle!

My BIGGEST challenge is going to be alcohol. I LOVE wine... And I have an active social life with family and friends, so giving up wine for 30 days is going to be hard. Also, I have been eating dark chocolate because some Paleo sites say its ok!

My other challenge is work. I am a nurse and work 3 12 hours shifts per week. It is so hard to pack all 3 meals into a little cooler bag and be satisfied for the whole shift. Snacks are hard, eating nuts every time I am hungry can't be good. And sometimes I don't have time to heat up a meal and eat it. Does anyone have suggestions for quick meals that don't need to be heated?

Wish me luck! Is anyone else starting Monday??

• Moderators

Chicken salad, tuna salad, egg salad, salmon salad, crab salad.

Seeing that fishy, eggy sentence makes me think I should invent a cold roast beef salad with diced pickles, jalapenos, and mayonnaise. Hmm.

I am starting Monday too!! This will be my first Whole30. I did a modified Paleo a while back, but have been off the wagon for quite some time now and just got back from a 7 day vacation to California where I ate terribly. Nervous to give up my coffee (I like my creamer!) and afraid I am going to miss an ingredient on a label that is not ok! Also nervous about the challenge of finding things to eat and the time it takes to prepare the food, but I am determined!! I can't expect my kids to have good eating habits if I am eating poorly!