Day 30- ALREADY?!

CarolinaJ85

So these last 30 days went extremely quickly.

Here are my thoughts on my first Whole30:

A little background first:

I am a pediatrics resident and have heard my patients talking about the Paleo diet before. I did not know much about it so I did a quick google search. The first thing that popped up were hundreds of Paleo-ified dessert recipes on Pinterest. Almond butter pancakes with protein frosting? Ew. I didn't think much of the Paleo diet after that until a colleague urged me to read ISWF. I ate an OK diet before this- not much sugar, no soda, no fast food. I did however eat plenty of low fat greek yogurt, cheese, oatmeal, granola, etc.

What I have accomplished during this last month:

THE GOOD:

1) I eat breakfast- a real breakfast! When you work over 80 hours a week this gets important. I have felt a lot more energy all day long.

2) My cellulite is almost gone. I was not expecting this, but I am pleased. I always told people my cellulite was "genetic" because I had it even when I was in college and 20lb lighter than I am now. Well, clearly it was not a weight issue. I am thinking it is related to cutting out dairy with the associated bloating but I am not sure.

3) I am more confident! YAY! Feel strong and thrilled that I am treating my body well. I used to be obsessed with food. I always talked about what I was eating, what I ate, and what I was going to eat. Now, my life is focused on other matters but I still have a great time cooking.

4) We spent LESS money. I am shocked by this. I think it was the Starbucks lattes adding up before but my husband and I had our lowest spending month since we got married 2 years ago.