hi! this is my first whole 30, and i am on day four. so far it's going well, though i'm still learning how much food to pack with me for work and school to get me through the day. anyways, here's my question: next week i am doing a volunteer activity with some co-workers, and we always go to this indian restaurant afterwards. does anyone know which indian foods might be compliant? i love indian food, but i wouldn't have a clue as to some of the ingredients. the good thing is that i'm going with someone who also doesn't eat gluten or processed sugar, so she always makes a point to ask about ingredients. however, i'm not sure about dairy, legumes, etc. as far as most dishes go. any suggestions? has anyone eaten indian out on w30 before?

thanks! :D

elora

I would stay away from sauces and eat the most plain things I could find on the menu. Like a piece of fish or meat, grilled or broiled with no sauce on it, and a veg, as plain as could be. I wouldn't eat any salad dressings or condiments. That would be really hard, because the sauces are so yummy--not to mention the naan. But I would imagine it'd be pretty hard to get a very good understanding of what exactly is in anything with a bunch of different ingredients.

Your friend can ask about sugar and gluten, but there are other things for you to consider like the type of oils used, and whatever chemically based products are used in the kitchen. I am not sure if MSG is used in Indian restaurants but you definitely want to avoid that. (If it is a place with a reputation for very clean, elemental basic food that'd be one thing, but I would guess that most restaurants are using commercially prepared sauces or sauce bases that will have a whole bunch of questionable items. I think back to working in a restaurant where all of our sauces came in giant 50 gallon jugs. Brrrr.)