Sweet Potato Woes

So, I'm new to the plan and the forums (Day 7 lurker) but I've run into a bit of a problem. I HATE sweet potatoes. The flavor, the texture, the colour, everything. They seem to crop up in about 75% of the recipies I've looked at though so my question for you all is...is there anyway to make a sweet potato not taste like a sweet potato? Can I replace it with something more palatable? I've been choking them down for a week but I really don't want to do it for another three.

I should also mention that up until I started this I knew how to cook a grand total of 5 meals, most of which were varieties on pasta, so if there's something obvious I should know go ahead and assume I don't. :) Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

First off, there is no need to eat the sweet potato--if you need a carb heavy veg, have winter squash, pumpkin, carrots, parsnips and the like! You could also look for the white ones, which are drier, more like a regular potato and not so 'sweet', there are also purple japanese ones, but I have never had them, so I can't speak to how they are.

The Japanese ones are a lot less sweet (at least the ones I had when I was in Japan) and not as orange of a flesh.

Don't force yourself to eat sweet potato if you don't like them. Personally, I haven't really been following any recipes and just eating the meat and veg that I like.

Have you looked at the recipes on http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/ and http://nomnompaleo.com/? They're probably two of the more popular paleo recipe blogger and neither one of them uses much in the way of sweet poato as far as I can recall.