losing weight FAST and in ketosis... worried

Hi everyone,

I'm on day 8 of my Whole30. There are many things that are really great about this program so far (not feeling hungry all day is awesome!) and things that are not so great (crippling cravings). But what I really want to talk about is being in ketosis.

So I know I'm in ketosis because I just had a urinalysis done (unrelated reason) and it was filled with ketones. I've got some biochemistry background and I know that ketosis is a starvation mechanism intended to help your brain stay energized when you aren't eating anything, but it also occurs when you aren't eating any carbs. So my liver is happily burning up my body fat which is why I'm losing weight - 5 lbs in 7 days, to be exact.

I guess I'm just worried because I don't know the health effects of being in ketosis and 5 lbs seems like way too much. It Starts with Food doesn't mention this phenomenon at all, which is disappointing because it's a major biochemical effect of cutting carbs out of your diet.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thank you very much!

why aren't you eating carbs? The whole30 is not designed to be ketogenic and does not restrict carbs, just carb sources. The meal template includes 1-2 palms of protein, 1-2 thumbs of fat and the rest of your plate filled with vegetables. As long as you are following the template, you should be fine. If you aren't, add more veggies and starchy ones in particular.

Hoping a sciency moderator chimes in but I can tell you this...it's not mentioned in the book because this is not a food plan that cuts out carbs. What it cuts out are processed carbs. You are welcome to eat starchy veggies and some fruit especially if that is what you need. What are you eating and in what amounts?